The Diocese of Ely Education Directorate

Diocesan Board of Education

The National Church school system is managed and developed through  individual dioceses.  Each Diocese has a Diocesan Board of Education (DBE) which is served by a Diocesan Director of Education (DDE) who is the Chief Secretary and Officer of the DBE.

The role of Ely DBE is to oversee developments and support schools on a day to day basis.  Members of the Board are either appointed by the Bishop or elected by Diocesan Synod, co-options are also possible.

The statutory remit of the DBE is encapsulated in the Diocesan Boards of Education Measure (1991) as amended by the Education and Inspections Act 2006.

Current elected members of the DBE are:

  • Ven Dr Alex Hughes, Archdeacon of Cambridge (Chair)
  • Canon Peter Maxwell
  • Canon Janet Perrett
  • Revd Simon Talbott
  • Canon Jessica Martin

Co-opted members are:

  • Revd Michael Banyard
  • Revd Mike Booker
  • Revd Canon Nigel Cooper
  • Anne Senior
  • Alistair Day
  • Isobel Rawlinson
  • Mike Younger

Chief Secretary: Andrew Read, Diocesan Director of Education


The next meetings of the Diocesan Board of Education will take place on:

Thursday 14th March 2019

Thursday 4th July 2019